In summer: CLOISTER OF JULIET’S TOMB
For the first time in the Verona’s history the Cloister of Juliet’s Tomb becomes the place to lodge the story of its Juliet and her Romeo. A unique, charming and magic location. A precious place that highlightsthe original style of the performance.
Dating back to 1937, Juliet’s tomb is housed in a ancient convent of the Capuchin friars of the thirteenth century. The Director of Museums of Verona, Antonio Avena wanted to be placed here the tomb of the young Capulet, since, already in the early nineteenth century, an empty red marble sarcophagus placed in the garden of the ex convent had been considered as the burial place of the Shakespearean heroine.
Ettore Solimani, a school official, accepts the job of guardian of the tomb of Juliet aimed at preserving the image of the fantastic character symbol born from the pen of the famous English poet . Solimani was strongly determined to treat the place assigned to him: he cultivates red and white roses in the garden of the tomb, he checks that the tourists respect the monumental decorum, he makes sure that all visitors leave their signatures on a special register. It is 1937 when for the first time Solimani receives a love letter addressed to Juliet Capulet. It is born the phenomenon of letters to Juliet: the enterprising guardian begins to respond to all the letters, the phenomenon is spreading all over the world and hundreds of letters arrive periodically in Verona. When Solimani reaches the retirement age, his legacy is collected by a distinguished journalist of the time, and in few years will be born the Juliet Clus. Cited by Lord Byron (Lord George Gordon Noel Byron 1788-1824, British poet and politician ) ” The tomb of Juliet, simple, open, with withered leaves around in the vast and desolate garden of a convent, it was sad as sad her love.” The Juliet’s tomb is visited every year by about 47,500 visitors. Adjacent to Juliet’s tomb, the museum exhibits Giambattista Cavalcaselle’s frescoes of various dating.
In winter: DECONSACRATED CHURCH OF SANTA MARIA IN CHIAVICA
It is said that the church was built at the behest Archdeacon Pacific , but there are no documents that attest . The earliest references found on ancient texts dating back to 1159 . It’s built into three naves . Paintings : In an aisle in the Chapel greater there’s The Nativity of the Virgin Mary. In the other Nativity of Jesus works Gianmbattista Lanceni. In other two side Choir Ii’s up in the one depicted St. Francis of Sales, St. John of Nepomuk in the other: works Mìchelangiola Lanzeni sister in Santa Catarina from dalla Ruota The frescoes in this chapel belong to Costantini. On the right altar there is seen Santa Catarina Virgin and Martyr and St. Francis de Sales: Edward Perini work day. The table below represents the blade of the Redeemer deposed Cross supported by ‘ Saints Peter and Paul by Paul Farinati . On the opposite side of St. Charles is seen kneeling before the Virgin by Pasqual Ottino . To the left of the chapel there’s the Virgin Mary and the saints is seen greater Lawrence and Francis: by Francesco Carotto. All the time the Presbytery is painted in fresco: the Annunciation of the Virgin Mary, the Nativity of Jesus Christ and the Virgin Mary: Aliprandi works . The fresco paintings in the vault of the Church are the works of the Nobile the young. In the Sacristy there isa table or shovel representing the Assumption of the Virgin Mary into heaven, below the Saints Nicholas and Cecilia by Francesco Turchi.